Action and Feeling

2013-11-29 20.57.30

“Action seems to follow feeling, but really action and feeling go together; and by regulating the action, which is under the more direct control of the will, we can indirectly regulate the feeling, which is not.”

Before entering a man’s office I would pause for an instant and think of the many things I had to be thankful for, work up a great big, honest-to-goodness smile, and then enter the room with the smile just vanishing from my face. It was easy then to turn on a big, happy smile.

Give every living soul you meet the best smile you ever smiled in your life, even your own wife and children, and see how much better you feel and look. It’s one of the best ways I know to stop worrying, and start living. When I began doing this, I found I became more welcome everywhere.

Frank Bettger

Leave a Reply

